Nakuru County Empowers Communities to Address Climate Change

Addressing Climate Change

The County Department of Water, Environment, Climate Change, and Natural Resources, led by CECM Dr. Nelson Maara, has launched an induction workshop for Ward Climate Change Planning Committees (WCCPCs) in Nakuru Town West and Rongai sub-counties. These committees are integral to fostering community participation in climate response initiatives, including risk assessment, action planning, and climate resilience projects at the ward level.

The primary goal of this training is to equip committee members with the necessary skills to implement actions and activities that promote climate change resilience, adaptation, and mitigation. Dr. Maara highlighted Nakuru County’s strong commitment to addressing climate change by employing a grassroots approach, aligning with Governor Susan Kihika’s vision to create a conducive environment for all Nakuru residents.

The event was attended by several key stakeholders, including Chief Officer for Environment Kennedy Mungai, Grace Karanja (Ag. Director of Climate Change), representatives from SEAF-Kenya, ALIN Kenya, WWF, county Environment Officers, Subcounty and Ward Administrators. This initiative reflects the county’s dedication to building climate resilience and involving local communities in these essential efforts.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *